back to Our People

Mike Lindlahr

Senior Energy Consultant

My work background:

During my school years, I discovered a passion for the Environment and Geography, and I decided to study Geography at University. Following my Ba/BS, I was lucky to be offered a position in Munich – Germany as an Energy Consultant. After three years, I decided that “Energy” alone was not enough for me and I decided to return to University to study an Environmental subject. After graduating with my MSc, I spent a year in the National Archives in Kew Garden (London) as a Climate Change Research Scientist – where I was assessing historical naval logbooks. During this time, I became more passionate about climate change and how our everyday life impacts the environment.

Having had valuable work experience as an Energy Assessor and now the MSc in my pocket; I decided to go down the path of Energy Assessor and Sustainability Consultant. Having worked for over decade at various companies across the UK, I have gained valuable work experience which will benefit the expansion of Cook Brown Energy.

About my role:

My role as Senior Energy Consultant is to expand the fields of Energy Assessments, which we offer to clients. I am responsible for non-domestic/commercial Energy Assessments and their associated MEES improvement reports and Display Energy Certificates.

In addition, as a lead ESOS & Low Carbon Consultant with CIBSE, we will offer clients a more in-depth Energy and Carbon Analysis. Our aim is to offer clients a full Energy and Carbon Reduction Package, which will assist them in becoming Compliant with various legislations. This will benefit them as a business as we can reduce their Energy and associate cost – but indirectly this will benefit our environment as we will reduce carbon emissions.

About me:

I was born in Germany and I grew up in Italy where I attended an International School. Subsequently, I decided to go to University in the UK and ended up in “not-so-sunny” Sunderland for over four years, where I graduated over ten years ago with my Masters. My wife and I have a four-year-old dinosaur-obsessed son who keeps us entertained with random facts.

Random facts:

I am actual German – Canadian and grew up in Italy, however I do enjoy the occasional English Ale.

Connect on LinkedIn: